MODRATEC Logo
Click our Logo to enter the MODRATEC Web Site.

MODRATEC Guest Lounge
Model Railway Technology Discussions
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Alteration to frame/railway

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MODRATEC Guest Lounge Forum Index -> Modratec Lever Frame Kits
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dthead



Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Melbourne, OZ

PostPosted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 4:57 pm    Post subject: Alteration to frame/railway Reply with quote

Just wondering what the policy for frame alteration is.

Like real railways, model railways alter and grow. I thought I might ask as this would be a big thing.

I assume one has redo the software and reorder a new frame, and the old frame is tuned for a upgrade fee ???? Or can the frame be altered ?


I know is is a hard question for a interlocked frame builder. And it would be frustrating as well.But I'd thought I'd ask to clear it up.


Regards,
David Head
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RedFred
Top Link
Top Link


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 38
Location: Queensland, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Upgrading a frame is possible, although not necessarily simple. Our general advice is to design for your ultimate requirement (and any intermediate steps which you can visualise) so that you know how many Levers and Slots you will require. It may then be possible to build the "eventual" frame but only implement/connect the levers required for the current layout.

Alternatively, knowing your eventual requirements, design for your current situation but allocate spare levers for future use. If your eventual design requires more Slots than your current design, then order for that requirement and advise us, when ordering, of this special arrangement. This will allow you to reuse the maximum number of components when rebuilding. When you need to modify your frame, we can organise a special order of the (probably few) new items required.
_________________
Happy training,
RedFred
The MODRATEC Moderator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MikeFozzy



Joined: 19 Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Location: Wirral, England

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 5:59 am    Post subject: altering frames Reply with quote

Original railway frames had spare levers to allow for alterations. Further, if neccesary, additional locking trays could be added as required.

For modellers, though, why not add a separate frame for another part of the layout? This would not necessarily mean more operators.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MODRATEC Guest Lounge Forum Index -> Modratec Lever Frame Kits All times are GMT + 10 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group